Celebrating Excellence: National Awards for our students!

National Awards for our students!

We are delighted to share some truly wonderful news: four of our exceptional students and former students have been honoured with national awards for their outstanding contributions to mental health within schools and beyond! 

These prestigious accolades come from The Inspirational Educator Awards, presented by The Educators’ Trust, a distinguished institution within the educational community. The Educators’ Trust, as a Worshipful Company of Educators, is committed to promoting excellence and innovation in education, and their recognition of our students’ remarkable efforts in mental health advocacy is a testament to their dedication and impact.

As a charity dedicated to advancing the profession of educators, The Trust acknowledges the critical importance of mental health in education. Our award-winning students have demonstrated exceptional dedication and innovation in this vital area, and we couldn’t be prouder of their achievements: 


Adam Gillett – School Leadership of Mental Health MA (2018 Cohort), Associate Vice Principal for Personal Development, Penistone Grammar School, Sheffield, Associate Lecturer Leeds Beckett University.

Adam Gillett was an outright favourite with all three judges.  Their independent reports praised Adam for his transformation of Penistone Grammar School making student and staff wellbeing central to its philosophy and quality assurance system with resulting accolades for the school. However, they were also impressed by the extent of his influence in extending good practice in mental health to other schools and to the training of both education and medical staff through innovative external partnerships and projects.  They thought that his local and national achievements were fully worthy of this award.


Amber Duxbury – School Leadership of Mental Health MA (21 Cohort); Lead for pupil mental health, The Island Free School, Ventnor, Isle of Wight. 

The judges were impressed with the impact that Amber made in such a short time as an educational professional. They noted the enthusiasm with which she put her academic Master’s study into practice both at the macro-level in developing a whole-institution approach through the Ambassadors Programme and at the micro-level in coaching individuals with quantifiable improvements.


Paula Willis, School Mental Health Specialist PGDip (2021 cohort) Senior Mental Health Lead, Springfield Primary School, West Road, Spondon, Derby.

The reports commented positively on her achievements both in her own stellar career development in mental health and with her success in implementing, embedding and sustaining a whole-school and community approach which has improved the emotional health and wellbeing of students, and led to the school winning the Carnegie Centre Mental Health in School Award (Silver Level). 


Lakshmi Divakarla, School Mental Health Specialist MA (2022 cohort) Emotional Literacy Support Teaching Assistant, Francis Askew Primary School, Hull.

The judges were impressed with the commitment and ambition that she brought to the post, evidenced by the extent of training and CPD she undertook to enhance her effectiveness in mental health within an educational setting. They also commended her willingness to share good practice with other members of staff, increasing their competence and confidence dealing with children with difficulties, with a noticeable improvement in the latter’s engagement with school life and learning.


Their work not only showcases their commitment to promoting mental wellbeing among students but also underscores the transformative power of education in addressing mental health challenges. Through their advocacy and initiatives, they are making a tangible difference in the lives of individuals and communities. 

We are excited to continue sharing more about their inspiring achievements and the positive impact they are making in the field of education and mental health. 

Join us in congratulating these exceptional individuals as they continue to shine brightly in their advocacy for mental health in education!